Nurse Napping

tahtonka - A Journey Through Global Culture

MedicalServicesIndia1944
Nursing is not easy, you must be dedicated to serving.
Picture credit: Wikipedia

A new friend told me about this story yesterday and I did not sleep much wondering why it had never made the news here?

This was not the kind of story, that could have been forgotten, at least not by me.

If this had happened in the United States, it would have been on every Channel for days on end, as is every other horrific story.

We would have seen it, all day, every day, night and day.

But, there has been nothing on our local News here about this.

So, while I was not sleeping last night and dwelling on this story, something occurred to me.

Could racism possibly have been involved here?

Because these Nurses were all Indian?

God, I truly hope not.

These innocent women were Nurse napped from a hospital in Iraq, it is said, about the beginning of July, yet even though I…

View original post 295 more words

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Nurse Napping

  1. Robert

    Dear Anjali,

    Thank you for sharing this story. It is always amazing how certain events make the news, while other events do not.

    All good wishes,

    robert

    Like

  2. I’m beginning to wonder whether ivestigative reporting is a dying art. Or perhaps it still happens as much as it ever did but media coverage is too selective. It’s a sad day when important news can be swept under the carpet.

    Like

    • It is indeed! And I was horrified to note that even BBC which is quite good usually – did not report it – even once! which saddened me greatly 😦

      Like

  3. I actually deleted part of my comment to you about the BBC! I emailed them fairly recently to complain about bias and poor reporting not to mention a waste of licence payers’ fees. It’s too bad when such a world-renowned body fails in its duty.

    Like

    • Absolutely! It kind of shook my faith – and I realised that no organisational body was entirely unbiased. I am not naive about these things, but I had thought that something of that scale would matter. But apparently not!

      Like

Leave a Reply

